Annual Undergraduate Research Conference (RECON 21) Event Report


Rawalian Students' Research Society

How to Cite

Mohammad Ebad, Anoosha Tariq. Annual Undergraduate Research Conference (RECON 21) Event Report. sjrmu [Internet]. 2022 Sep. 29 [cited 2024 Apr. 22];26(1):65-6. Available from:


Since its establishment in 2014, Rawalian Students' Research Society has strived to promote undergraduate research at Rawalpindi Medical University. Under the supervision of Patron-in-Chief Vice Chancellor Professor Dr. Muhammad Umar (S.I.), Patron-in-Charge Professor Dr. Arshad Sabir and Chief Coordinator Dr. Afifa Kulsoom, RSRS conducts the Annual Undergraduate Research Conference (RECON), providing medical students from all over Pakistan a platform to present their research work in front of a wide audience.

The Annual Undergraduate Research Conference - RECON'21 was conducted on November 20, 2021 in New Teaching Block, Rawalpindi Medical University. The call for abstracts was opened from November 5 to November 14; more than a hundred abstracts were submitted by medical students of 15+ institutes. The received abstracts were reviewed by subject specialists of Medicine and Allied, Surgery and Allied, Public Health and Psychiatry. Thirty-nine abstracts were selected for oral presentation and 57 abstracts were selected for poster presentation. All presentations were judged by an esteemed panel of senior research faculty on the basis of research knowledge, quality of research and presenting style. In the hopes of encouraging the brilliant undergraduate researchers to continue to strive for excellence, the worthy Vice Chancellor Professor Dr. Muhammad Umar (S.I.) and Rawalian Students' Research Society awarded shields, certificates and cash prizes to the two highest scoring oral and poster presenters in each specialty.

In addition, all winners were invited to present their research work as oral presentations in the 5th International Scientific Conference, held at Rawalpindi Medical University on December 23, 2021, to an audience comprising of delegates from APPNA, APPNE, APNE, RMCAANA and RMU alumni from United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand.